

## Thursday 29 October 2020<sup>1</sup>

#### **MINUTES**

**Present:** Professor Michael Arthur, President and Provost (Chair).

Professor Bas Aarts; Dr Samer Abdelnour; Dr Ali Abolfathi; Mr Adnan Ali; Dr Mark Altaweel; Dr Seth Anziska; Ms Wendy Appleby; Dr Manuel Arroyo-Kalin; Professor David Atkinson; Ms Marie Augustin; Dr Paul Ayris; Dr Sunny Bains; Professor Yolande Barnes; Professor Kathryn Batchelor; Dr Cecile Bats; Mr Ayman Benmati: Professor Robert Biel: Dr Matthew Blain: Dr Geraldine Brodie: Professor Clare Brooks; Dr Nicole Brown; Professor Robert Brownstone; Professor David Burrows; Professor Jonathan Butterworth; Mr Tadhg Caffrey; Dr Jelena Calic; Dr Alisia Carnemolla: Dr Celia Caulcott: Dr Declan Chard: Professor Tao Cheng: Dr Evangelia Chrysikou; Dr Alun Coker; Professor Susan Collins; Professor Claire Colomb; Professor Stephen Colvin; Professor Barbara Conradt; Dr Sonya Crowe; Ms Sonja Curtis; Professor Caroline Daly; Professor Bert De Reyck; Professor Wei Di; Dr Elton Dias; Professor Paul Dodds; Professor Annette Dolphin; Ms Dominique Drai; Professor Paulo Drinot; Professor Sandra Dunsmuir; Professor Frances Edwards; Professor Piet Eeckhout; Professor Mark Emberton; Professor Joanna Evans; Dr Russell Evans; Professor Susan Evans; Ms Pascale Fanning-Tichborne; Dr Liory Fern-Pollak: Professor Elizabeth Fisher: Dr Bettina Friedrich: Professor Paul Fromme; Dr David Frost; Dr Martin Fry; Dr Eduardo Garciadiego Ortega; Professor Alasdair Gibb; Professor Adam Gibson; Professor Deborah Gill; Dr Hugh Goodacre; Mr James Gorridge; Dr Ryan Grammenos; Ms Emma Grant; Ms Amanda Greene; Professor Alistair Greig: Professor Lee Grieveson: Dr Anne Grydehoj: Professor Francois Guesnet; Professor Patrick Haggard; Mr Martin Hall; Professor Penelope

Saladin Meckled-Garcia; Professor Usha Menon; Professor Robert Mills; Professor Zoran Milutinovic; Professor Jenny Mindell; Professor John Mitchell; Professor Sara Mole: Dr Dafne Zuleima Morgado Ramirez: Professor Sharon Morris: Professor John Mullan; Professor Florian Mussgnug; Ms Marga Navarrete; Dr Mark Newman; Professor Thanh Nguyen; Dr Alex Norori-McCormac; Dr Abel Nyamapfene; Professor John O'Keefe; Professor Moses Oketch; Mr Jim Onyemenam; Professor John O'Regan: Professor Norbert Pachler: Professor Enrico Palandri: Professor Amos Paran; Professor Ivan Parkin; Professor Nora Pashayan; Dr Kamna Patel; Dr Lucia Patrizio Gunning; Dr Olga Perski; Professor Arthur Petersen; Professor Hynek Pikhart; Dr Jeffrey Pittaway; Dr Michaela Pollock; Professor John Potter; Dr Stephen Potts; Professor David Price; Professor Sarah Price; Professor Raman Prinja; Dr Samantha Rayner; Professor Geraint Rees; Professor William Richardson; Professor Helen Roberts; Dr Flaminia Ronca; Professor Sasha Roseneil; Professor Karin Ruggaber; Ms Fiona Ryland; Dr John Sabapathy; Professor Amelie Saintonge; Professor Patricia Salinas: Dr Benet Salway: Professor Vieri Samek-Lodovici: Professor Francesco Saverio Tedesco; Dr Tim Scanlon; Professor Ralf Schoepfer; Professor Katrina Scior; Professor Sonu Shamdasani; Professor David Shanks; Dr

Sibiryakova; Mr Justin Siefker; Dr Bill Sillar; Professor Angus Silver; Professor Michael Singer; Ms Thushyanthi Sivagnanam; Professor Lucia Sivilotti; Professor Joy Sleeman; Professor Trevor Smart; Professor Sam Smidt; Professor Anthony Smith; Professor Samuel Solomon; Professor Eva Sorensen; Professor Umber Soueid; Professor Catalina Spataru; Professor Claudio Stern; Professor Sacha Stern; Dr Allison Stielau; Professor Jakob Stougaard-Nielsen; Dr Sherrill Stroschein; Ms Joanna Stroud; Professor Judith Suissa; Professor Seirian Sumner; Professor Adam Swift; Mr Bryan Taylor; Professor Alan Thompson; Dr Amy Thornton; Professor Jordan Timothy; Dr Matteo Tiratelli; Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker; Professor Ahmed Toosy; Mr Martyn Towner; Ms Helen Tsui; Professor Liz Varga; Professor Laura Vaughan; Dr Nalini Vittal; Dr Bella Vivat; Ms Yasmin Walker; Dr Ryan Wang; Professor Johanna Waters; Dr Hayley Whitaker; Ms Breege Whiten; Professor Amanda Williams; Professor Owen Williams; Professor James Wilson; Ms Tor Wright; Dr Ozgur Yazaydin; Dr Sophie Zadeh; Dr Vedran Zerjav; Dr Stan Zochowski.

**In attendance:** Dr Clare Goudy; Mr Phil Harding; Dr Efrosyni Konstantinou; Dr Dewi Lewis; Mr Nick McGhee (Secretary to Academic Board); Ms Abigail Smith; Ms Kirsty Walker; Ms Olivia Whiteley.

### **Part I: Preliminary Formal Business**

- 1 **ACADEMIC BOARD TERMS OF REFERENCE 2020-21** (Paper 1-01)
  - 1.1 Noted.
- 2 **ACADEMIC BOARD CONSTITUTION AND MEMBERSHIP** (Paper 1-02)

2.1 Noted. The Chair reported that AB now had over 1,700 members. Heads of Department had been reminded that staff could put themselves forward for vacancies outside the biennial election cycle by contacting the secretary.

# 3 ACADEMIC COMMITTEE: TERMS OF REFERENCE, CONSTITUTION AND MEMBERSHIP (Paper 1-03)

3.1 Members queried the fact that the AC Terms of Reference had not yet changed to reflect the decision of the Special Meeting of AB on 14 July 2020

recorded his gratitude to all staff for their part in helping UCL to navigate successfully what had been a particularly challenging

number of students should choose or be obliged to stay in UCL accommodation.

## 7 PRINCIPAL THEME 2 REPORT (Paper 1-05)

- 7.1 Professor Anthony Smith, Vice-Provost (Education and Student Affairs) introduced the report.
- 7.2 The current Education Strategy covered the period 2016-2021. As the present circumstances were not conducive to starting a conversation about the strategy for the next five years, it was proposed that this be rolled over for a further year

was being convened by Professor Norbert Pachler to consider the wider implications of audio and video recording, at the request of the local Universities and Colleges Union.

- 7.8 The to review and strengthen our PGT provision in response to our changing reflected an intention to support departments and faculties if they wished to carry out a strategic consideration of Masters programmes.
- 7.9 extending access to online teaching beyond their own course. This was an interesting suggestion, although there were potential issues around the academic staff in question giving the appropriate permission.
- 7.10 Members discussed the risk of the provisions of the policy being interpreted with insufficient flexibility. The importance of understanding the spirit in which particular arrangements were put in place was noted.

### 8 INQUIRY INTO THE HISTORY OF EUGENICS AT UCL (Paper 1-06)

8.1 The paper was introduced by Dr Kamna Patel, Co-Chair of the UCL Eugenics Inquiry Response Group. The G

### Part III: Other Business for approval or Information

- 10 STANDING ORDERS OF ACADEMIC BOARD (Paper 1-07)
  - 10.1 The proposed amendments to the Standing Orders were approved.
- 11 **ELECTIONS** (Paper 1-08)
  - 11.1 Noted.
- 12 SUSPENSIONS AND EXCLUSIONS OF STUDENTS (Paper 1-09)
  - 12.1 Noted.
- 13 MINUTES OF OTHER COMMITTEES (Paper 1-10)
  - 13.1 Noted.
- 14 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING
  - 14.1 Wednesday 16 December 2020 at 1130-1330.

Nick McGhee Secretary to Academic Board Tel: [+44] (0)20 3108 8217

Email: n.mcghee@ucl.ac.uk